Reduce the risk of Breast Cancer by losing weight

Women in Glasgow, Aberdeen, Dundee and Edinburgh will be asked to take part in a new Breast Cancer awareness scheme.

The £1 million pilot scheme hopes to reduce the risk of getting the illness by helping women maintain a healthy weight and be more active.

Over 4,500 women get breast cancer each year and it costs the lives of around 1,000 every year.

We spoke to survivor, Ann Warnock, who believes this project could save thousands of lives:

“My lifestyle isn’t the best and never has been. There wasn’t this kind of research back in my day, it was seen as unlucky to get any forms of cancer.  If women knew back then what we know now, many of my friends would still be alive.

“I’ve had cancer in numerous places and I feel as though it’s never left me. However, I was very fortunate, and I must admit if it wasn’t for the doctor I would probably be dead. It was my husband Tommy that persuaded me to go to the doctor and get it checked, because I had some lumps on my arms and some rashes on my breast.

“I could’nt believe it when the doctor told me I had it, I felt worn down and as if life was being sucked out of me. I don’t know where I would be if it wasn’t for Tommy noticing it. I’m one of the lucky ones because I went to the doctor early.

“The only real advice you can give – get to the doctor and get to him quickly. If you do that then you’ll beat it. If you don’t, the risk is massive.”

Funded by the Scottish Government, the research trial will be led by the University of Dundee and supported by charity Breast Cancer Now.

The scheme could also be rolled out to other NHS regions following a successful pilot.

 

 

By Jade Whitaker

Leave a Reply

