Artists to Love and Look Out For!

This week The Caledonian Spectator will be reviewing some of Scotland’s best upcoming artists. We have narrowed the countries talents to two solo artists and two bands, and we will reveal one a day this week;

#1

Name: Kevin Campbell

Location: Glasgow

Age: 22

Kevin catches his audience first with his signature cow-boy hat but when he picks up his guitar his voice is alluring and soothing.

We’ve attached video of Kevin singing shows his vocal diversity with Jodie Waite. He is best known in the Glasgow music scene for his husky-country tones. If you’re on Facebook give him a check and looks at his covers of Ring of Fire.

Get to know Kevin:

Kevin has been a Vice-President at Glasgow Caledonian University for a year and has recently been elected to return as president by students for the next academic year. Kevin lives in Glasgow with his fiancée Jodie and their zoo of pets, including a tortoise, a dog and a cat.

This is what happened when we met Kevin Yesterday:

What inspires your music?

“Generally speaking, I only ever write something if there’s a story to be told, I’m not a fan of music for music’s sake. I’ll tend to come up with some kind of bizarre chord progression and then try to fit a story into it, as far as I see it, there’s no point singing something unless it’s trying to convey a message to someone.”

What made you get into music?

“I actually only started singing about 3 or 4 years ago, I’ve never really rated myself as a singer at all and even now I try to compensate for that with more complex guitar work. I started playing guitar after hearing a Chet Atkins song and being totally blown away by it. I started following folks like him, Merle Travis and all the old country pickers as well as todays guys like Tommy Emmanuel and really focussing on playing guitar, I’d sneak away from classes at school and lock myself in a room in the music department and just play ‘til the last bell rang, it became a bit of an obsession. It was only later I figured, people nowadays don’t have the patience to sit and listen to a story told through the guitar so the only way I’m going to get their attention is to sing, and here we are.”

What’s happening with your music now?

“I’ve been taking a break from music, it’s probably been about a year and a half since I’ve actually written anything, but I have this album that’s all recorded and sitting there with new songs and really cool stuff on it but I guess the next step is getting it out there. Perhaps over the summer months I’ll get back into the swing of things and do a little release to take it to the next level. Who knows.”

By Jade Whitaker

Leave a Reply

