Rest is key say Rodgers and Rogic

Celtic manager Brendan Rodgers and midfielder Tom Rogic have said that time out from playing is vital for an important run in of league matches.

Rodgers made several changes before and during last night’s 1-1 draw at home to Partick Thistle, extending The Bhoys‘ unbeaten run in the Scottish Premiership.

Rodgers said: “The plan beforehand, as well as giving players game-time, was to give Tom Rogic 30 minutes.

“After the weekend, our next peak is semi-final and building towards that – why I had to make changes tonight.”

Australian playmaker Rogic made a substitute appearance on 62 minutes, replacing new signing Eboué Kouassi, following a long spell out due to in injury.

Rogic said: “I’ve had my rest, there’s still a lot to play for this season, and there’s no let up.

“I’ve been working as hard as I can every day to get back as soon as possible, so it was great to get back out on the pitch.”

Rogic was unable to be supersub last night as Adebayo Azeez slotted an equalizer two minutes after he came on.

Scott Sinclair had the chance to regain the lead a matter of minutes later but his penalty was stopped by Tomáš Černý.

Rodgers said: “We got the penalty, and I think the last time I have seen Scotty miss was when we played Manchester City at home for Swansea.

Joe Hart made a save, first penalty he’d ever missed for me. The keeper makes the save & we couldn’t get final touch to win game.”

The Celts are in home action again this Saturday against Kilmarnock who come fresh off a 0-0 draw vs Rangers at Rugby Park.

 

Leave a comment